Study in Denmark

Visa, living costs, healthcare?

Settling in another country takes its toll on most people. Luckily all you need to know about studying and living in Denmark can be found at the "Study in Denmark" portal.




Citizens from EU/EEA*) follow the same entrance procedure as regular Danish students. There is no tuition fee for EU/EEA citizens.


According to Danish legislation tuition fees will be charged from full degree students from non-EU/EEA*) countries starting January 1st 2008.

Full degree students are students studying for a full Bachelor’s, Master’s programme or Advanced Postgraduate Diploma. Students who enrol at the academy as part of en official exchange programme i.e. Erasmus or Nordplus or a bilateral agreement are exempt from the tuition fee.

Most of the rules and requirements regarding the admission procedure, admission requirements and other information about the studies are not different to those that apply to the regular studies.


Price for Bachelor programmes per year (two semesters): 12.400,00 EUR
Total duration three years.

Price for Masters programmes per year (two semesters): 9.150,00 EUR
Total duration two years.

Price for Advanced Postgraduate Diploma per year (two semesters): 6.600,00 EUR
Total duration two years.

(All prices are updated in April 2023)

The study programmes for full fee paying students may vary a little in order to accommodate the needs of our foreign students, but the main content of the programme will not differ significantly.

Please note: all prices listed above are due to yearly change according to indexation.


SDMK - Danish National Academy of Music does not offer any scholarships for foreign students. You'll have to find financial support in your own country.


If you are a non-EU/EEA citizen you should check if you need a visa in order to enter Denmark for entrance examinations.

If you need a VISA we advise you to contact you local Danish government representation (Embassy or Consulate) in order to prepare the paperwork. If you need a letter of invitation in order for get the VISA you should contact the Study Administration as soon as possible. They will send you a formal letter of invitation for the entrance exams.

If you are accepted to the academy you will get a letter stating that you have been accepted. If you need further documentation you should contact the Study Administration in due time before your deadlines.


EU/EEA students are students from the European Economic Area (the European Union plus Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein). Students from Switzerland have the same status as EU/EEA students. The EEA includes the following countries:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Rumania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden



If you do not hold a passport from one of the countries listed above, then you are a non-EU/EEA student, and must pay international student tuition fees. Students from candidate EU member states  Macedonia, and Turkey pay the same tuition as other international students.